Independent Reading

book flip
Independent Reading Guidelines

ALL RLS students participate in the Independent Reading Program for which they receive a grade on their report card as a virtual 0(zero) period.

This program is conducted using Scholastic Reading Counts! (RC) and Scholastic Reading Inventory (SRI). Each student begins the school year by taking the SRI Lexile test which determines the student’s reading comprehension level. Based on this lexile level, the student will choose books and upon finishing a book, take a ten-question quiz. (Students are given three chances at passing the quiz, with a one day wait between. 7 out of 10 is a pass.)

The grading policy per quarter is as follows:

  • 6th Graders –
    2 books =A
    1 book = B
    0 books = F
  • 7th & 8th Graders -
    3 books = A
    2 books = B
    1 book = C
    0 books = F
Click here for this trimester's DEADLINES.
A detailed description on how to use Destiny Quest to find books, lexiles & quizzes can be found by clicking here.

  • ALL students are required to document in their Planner, the title & lexile of the book that they have chosen.
  • They must then have their English teacher sign and date their approval (also in Planner), and finally
  • Present to Librarian who will record the date the quiz was passed.
It is the student’s responsibility to keep their Planner throughout the year, as this page will be used in calculating their Independent Reading Grade.
Last Modified on November 20, 2014